Turnips vs. swedes vs. neeps – confused yet?

It seems that, even beyond haggis, there’s still more to learn about Scottish food. So, tatties are potatoes, turnips are turnips, and then there are neeps, which if I understand this Guardian WoM blog correctly, are swedes, or in American parlance rutabagas, a cross between cabbage (kale?) and turnips. It’s a little more clear in the Guardian’s winter veg guide here.

I don’t think I’ve eaten either turnips or swedes since I’ve been here. I always assumed that turnips and rutabagas were the same save for the yellow color of the latter, but given the strong preferences expressed by Guardian commenters, I might be wrong.

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

