Nasi goreng (part 2)

It was really tasty, and quite easy, when the steps were done in advance (though we ate pretty late; I should’ve cooked the rice earlier). A photo is below… definitely would have been prettier with the cilantro. We didn’t really miss the prawns, though, and there was a hint of them in the sambal anyway.

Tomorrow we’re going into town, and will try to have dinner at Malaysia Kopi Tiam in Charing Cross Road. Which, I understand, means that we’ll be right around the corner from Chinatown, which I haven’t seen yet. I’m quickly filling up the cupboards and fridge with stuff, but I do need some rice vinegar and a bottle of fish sauce that’s less than a liter. I know these aren’t Chinese but most Chinese grocery stores – well, ok, assuming they even have one there and they haven’t all moved out to the suburbs – carry the basics of other Asian cuisines.

I’m very excited about Kopi Tiam. I’m going to try to find whether Rick Stein did a show for the BBC on Malaysia when he was in SE Asia last year, so we can familiarize ourselves with some of what we might find. Though Malaysian food is so cosmopolitan that – if you’re a newbie like me – you might eat in two different restaurants and not realize you’re eating the same cuisine. Also, there’s a restaurant with the same name in DC that I always liked very much. Could it have the same owners? Again, we’ll find out.

I’m also very grateful that Andrew is so adventurous and likes spicy food!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Nasi goreng (part 2)

  1. Hey Emily,

    There are two types of Malaysian/Indonesian Nasi Goreng. There’s the halal that’s cooked by the Muslim Malays and there’s the ‘non’ that are cooked predominantly by the Chinese and to some extent the South Indians. Malaysia Kopi Tiam belongs to the latter. Both versions are very good but the improvised version of the latter thrive more on the umami stakes and whilst the halal version will have more kick in the spice department. For the halal version try Bonda Café or if you can somehow drag a Malaysian buddy to Malaysia Hall Canteen. Oh thanks for the cuppa and biscuit offer, I don’t like bikkies but your blog is a breath of fresh air, that I like.

  2. Oh Emily!

    Yet another reason to hop across the channel some time. The best Dutch food is Indonesian food – ask any travel guide. We have a wonderful family run restaurant in the neighbourhood that does amazing dishes including nasi goreng (which means ‘fried rice’ literally or so I am told). My father always says that the quality of an Indonesian restaurant can be judged by their nasi goreng.

    Next time I come to London you let me know what I should bring from the toko, okay? 😉

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

