Wholemeal Bread

For my first Short and Tweet effort I’m afraid I’m not breaking new ground. In fact, it’s not even that much of an effort as this is our regular loaf, and a fairly easy one at that. So I’m being a a bit lazy here. However, I will say that it’s a cracker – no it isn’t, it’s a bread! arf. – and it’s the loaf that decisively ended our Hovis habit. And when I’m busy/not in the mood/wanting to feel less of a hausfrau, the man of the house, who loves to eat but is not baking-obsessed, feels confident enough to make it without having to fear my control demons coming after him. Result!

So these pics are of a loaf we made together; I started and rose and shaped the dough, he floured, slashed and whacked it in the oven. Detail-wise, the recipe I use is actually Felicity Cloake’s ‘Perfect’ adaptation, which has about 15% white flour, and the knead timings are different to Dan’s book. Either way, it’s a great, pretty-much-unscrewuppable loaf.

Update: The collected results are in; check everyone’s loaves at the Short and Tweet site.

7 Comments

Filed under baking, bread, cooking, food

7 responses to “Wholemeal Bread

  1. Nice looking! Glad that you’ve joined the fun. :)

  2. Who doesn’t like a good wholemeal bread? Lovely post there. Do drop by my blog sometime, I just did it first ever dessert recipe post and I’d love to know what you think.

  3. SuziiMama

    Crunch those control demons!

  4. ninopane

    Look scrumptious and welcome to the challenge!

  5. I’m so glad A. is allowed in the kitchen to bake!

    just kidding ;)

  6. snimki selo bania

    This bread is awesome. Well i also like garlic bread but don’t mind to try other types.

  7. Baking bread — confidently — is one of my New Year’s resolutions. I am officially envious!

Leave a Reply

